Phillip Bierman 2012
The Players' Championship for Senior Amateur players was the brainchild of Philip Viljoen, one of the senior players. He had the vision of a prestigious tournament for the top senior amateurs in the country and to treat them like royalty, whilst playing a tough championship course. Through tremendous dedication and hard work, Philip managed to put it together and raise the required sponsorships to stage this annual event.

The first Players Championship took place in 2012 at the Pecanwood course, where Phillip Bierman, shown on the left, won the trophy. The winner of the 2013 event was Peter van Coller, pictured on the right. Lynton Beckett (middle left) was victorious in the 2014 event. Morgan Phillips (middle right) collected the glassware in 2015. The first weekend in February, 2016 belonged to Ben Kleynhans (bottom left) who beat the previous years winner, Morgan Phillips, in a playoff. The 2017 champion, Andre van Dyk of Langebaan, Boland(bottom right), snatched the trophy when the leader at that stage, Sello Tsubele of Royal Oak in Ekurhuleni, made a nine at the final hole! The 2018 champion is the adominable Steve Williams pictured below. The setup of the course will be fair and challenging according to the aims of the tournament, and the seniors from all over the country will have to be careful not to come unstuck on the top championship course, with the thickest rough, in the country!

The organisers and players hereby also want to convey their sincere appreciation and thanks to PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Supergroup and North West Golf Union for their valuable contributions. Without their support this tournament would not be possible.

Peter van Coller 2013

Lynton Beckett 2014

Morgan Phillips 2015

Ben Kleynhans 2016

Steven Williams 2018

Andre van Dyk 2017